113865503430068128

Happy Birthday Mano. May you have many more such happy occassions to cherish. And now give me my tweet!!

I finally completed reading The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran. It took me ages to complete this tiny book, everytime I read any book I end up saying this. But this time it seriously went a little far, more than acceptable.. maybe the jaundice phase made a snail – anywayz hookay!!

It was a good read not the best yet interesting, very similar to my toughts though I don’t agree with him on certain topics i.e. in one or two sections. You may find it a little over the top or maybe unconventional but I, being a liberal or say self-explorer would recommend this book to any and everyone. You will like it – if not completely then atleast some portions for sure . The thing which amazes me about Gibran’s writings is that there is something for everyone in it; whether you like poetic expression, philosophy, romance, spirituality, inspirational books or self-quest.. you just ask for it and you will get it except the mystery and suspense =P

An extract:
“And even as each one of you stands alone in God’s knowledge, so must each one of you be alon in his knowledge of God and in his understanding of earth.”
Isn’t it beautiful?!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Guyana-Gyal
    Jan 31, 2006 @ 20:43:00

    That is, actually, one of my favourite books.

    We have a recording of it too.

    Sometimes I get tired of today’s dark writings, as brilliant as they are, some of them.

    Right now I’m enjoying The Alchemist.

  2. Raheel
    Jan 31, 2006 @ 22:00:00

    Sometimes I get tired of today’s dark writings, as brilliant as they are, some of them —>Yes I can so relate!!

  3. Asma
    Feb 01, 2006 @ 00:55:00

    So how are you now doing jaundice subsided … feeling fine as always ?????? hope so 🙂

    well go to http://www.feedmap.net/

    and then there are two ways of getting urself located on the map … you can either give long latitudes of place u live in/karachi or you can locate it on the map … so … you can paste code to ur site … try to locate place … long latit sometimes give problems and things cant be undone … so be careful 🙂

    wassalam best wishes

  4. Raza Gheewala
    Feb 01, 2006 @ 01:11:00

    thankyou for your kind words of appreciation. I read your write up about Khalil Gibran and now i want to read the book.

  5. Aisha
    Feb 01, 2006 @ 08:50:00

    The prophet is good… “sand and foam” is better!

  6. Unaiza Nasim
    Feb 01, 2006 @ 10:50:00

    The prophet by Khalil Jibran is one of my favorite books!
    I just love the concepts on love and i once posted it on my blog as well…
    Read The Al-chemist its a good one too.

  7. Raheel
    Feb 02, 2006 @ 02:00:00

    asma, thanks

    raza, its a good book

    aisha, I have e-book version of Sand of Foam.. very less pages I guess!!

    Unaiza, yes both of these books are my favorites 🙂

Leave a Reply

Coffee Luvers

  • 36,502 hits
