A DECADE AGO

Oh those childhood days were so good, seriously. I don’t mean my childhood days but the actual days and the raw aura that dwelt in Karachi a decade ago till the millennium and Y2K horror scene to be exact. Karachi was different. It was lovely. It was not materialistic. It had the warmth. Warmth even in the cold nights. Now it is like cold nights with cold gloomy feeling. It had an untouched virgin feeling about it. Now it is all artificial. There was martial law, curfew but no mobile snatchers and no shameless public display of religious gundaism. Karachi was happening, it still it is but not like then. Kit Kat was like a big treat now it is just another chocolate. Restaurants were an occasional family affair for which people waited. Funland and Seaview were the only hangouts but it was such a thrill to go there and the camel rides. Variety is spice of life but it surely spoils the fun if its in wrong direction. We need more pure ENTERTAINMENT places and please no more restaurants and water parks.

Arrghh I feel like I have lost my blog writing touch. I haven’t even written 20% of what I conceived.. procrastination maybe or I have just lost it.

Btw I felt what Karachi was like before, yesterday night before going to sleep rather before sleeping, some images brought back the wonderful memories of Karachi and I can’t tell you how peacefully I have slept.

This city will make me mad. It is the attitude of people here which needs a collective rehab.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fairyDust
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 06:53:54

    i know what you mean!

  2. Hina
    Jan 16, 2007 @ 01:53:24

    Can’t agree with you more.

    Raheel, I wanted to know if you are participating in microsoft’s Imagine Cup this year. Please let me know.

    http://www.imaginecup.com

  3. Hammad
    Jan 16, 2007 @ 09:25:07

    so true for khi bt it seems like you wrote it esp for hyd:, nayish writing style !

  4. Raheel Lakhani
    Jan 17, 2007 @ 02:36:08

    fairyDust, hmm.
    Hina, yes in photography category. Want to go in short film too but no experience or camera.
    Hammad, ohkay. How does it relate to hyd?

  5. Asma
    Jan 18, 2007 @ 00:58:00

    hayee kitkat — I agree totally on that point 😉

  6. Trackback: hydrocodone and pregnancy

Leave a Reply

Coffee Luvers

  • 36,554 hits
